Merfolk

I never posted this, because I wanted to ink it first, and never got around to doing so. This is done the week right after Mark the Mooseman. The theme for that week’s Imaginative Illustrators of NYC was Merfolks. I planned to do mer-turtle at first, and make a heavy tank character, but it really wasn’t coming to me. After the thumbnail and sketching stage I scrapped that idea, and just went with what was the most fun. One of the many lessons learned from doing this meet up is that ideas are often best scrapped and move on from if they aren’t “coming” to you. That’s about the best way I can describe it.

He’s named Sir Gumbolot because I worked on him so spontaneously, he’s a scramble combo of numerous animals – like a gumbo stew!

scan031

Leave a Reply

